Docs home
About Red Hat Marketplace
My profile
Recommended browsers
Account management
User management
Roles
Billing and invoices
Clusters
Red Hat Marketplace Operator
Operators
Troubleshooting
Getting started
Partner account
Partner payments
Subscription management service
Product renewal and termination
Identifying clients for trial or purchase
Tax considerations
Export compliance
Approve products for purchase
Buy products on Marketplace Select
Personalize the Home page
Tag products to enable spend visibility

Red Hat Marketplace roles

Marketplace roles and partner roles

Marketplace and partner roles have access to different resources. Typically a seller uses partner roles while a buyer users marketplace roles. Sometimes accounts contain both marketplace and partner roles. In this case, users can filter by Marketplace team or Partner team.


Owner role

Red Hat Marketplace allows for only one Owner per account—even for enterprises with both marketplace and partner teams. By default, the user with the Owner role also has an Admin role.

To reassigned the Owner role, the current owner updates the user. For more information, refer to Update roles.

Owners have view and modify access to all role resources. Only Owners can modify Account settings.


Marketplace roles

Marketplace roles authorize access to Red Hat Marketplace resources.

Default marketplace role

By default, all Red Hat Marketplace users are assigned the Member role.

Marketplace role combinations

Red Hat Marketplace allows for users to have multiple roles. The following table shows possible combinations.

RoleMarketplace AdminMemberCluster AdminPurchaser
Marketplace Admin
Member

Marketplace role resource descriptions

The following table shows resources and descriptions, including role access to each resource.

ResourcesDescriptionMarketplace AdminMemberCluster AdminPurchaser
View Account settingsUser can view account settings.
View MembersUser can view all users under an account.
View BillingUsers can view billing information.
View EntitlementsUsers can view account entitlements.
View ProductsUsers can view products on the marketplace.
View TagsUser can view tags, add tags to products, and apply tags to charts
View Support caseUsers can view support cases.
View ClustersUsers can view registered clusters.
Modify MembersUsers can add, update, and delete account users.
Modify BillingUsers can add, update, and delete billing information.
Modify EntitlementsUsers can add, update, and delete account entitlements.
Modify ProductsUsers can approve products on marketplace Select.
Modify TagsUsers can create, update, and delete tags.
Modify Support caseUsers can add, update, and delete support cases.
Modify ClustersUsers can add, update, and delete registered clusters.

Partner roles

Partner roles authorize access to Red Hat Marketplace partner resources.

Default partner role

By default, all Red Hat Marketplace partner users are assigned the Partner role.

Partner role combinations

Red Hat Marketplace allows for sellers to have multiple roles. The following table shows possible combinations.

RoleProduct AdminPartnerLegal Partner
Product Admin
Partner

Partner role resource descriptions

The following table shows resources and descriptions, including role access to each resource.

ResourcesDescriptionProduct AdminPartnerLegal Admin
View ProductsUser can view product settings.
View MembersUser can view all users under an account.
View Service IDsUsers can view service IDs.
View Legal policiesUsers can view legal policies.
Modify ProductsUser can add, update, and delete product settings.
Modify MembersUsers can add, update, and delete account users.
Modify Service IDsUsers can add, update, and delete service IDs.
Modify Legal policiesUsers can accept legal policies.

Update roles

Prerequisites

  • invite people to join

Procedure

  1. One the main menu, click your user name, click My account, click My team, and then click Invite Users.
  2. On the row of the user, click the Menu Options button (dots icon), and then click Edit user.
  3. On the Edit roles page, next to each Role, select the appropriate checkboxes.
  4. To update the roles, click Assign.

Result

You updated the roles. The user can access authorities based on the updated roles.