Docs home
Getting started
My profile
Account management
User management
Billing and invoices
Clusters
Red Hat Marketplace Operator
Operators
Troubleshooting
Security

User management

About roles

Roles authorize access to Red Hat Marketplace features. All users of Red Hat Marketplace are assigned a role.

Default role

By default, all Red Hat Marketplace users are assigned to the Member role. This means that all users are authorized to purchase software on Red Hat Marketplace.

Owner role

Red Hat Marketplace allows for only one Owner role per account entity. By default, the user with the Owner role also has an Admin role.

To switch the user assigned to the Owner role, the user with the current Owner role can make the update. For more information, refer to Update roles.


Role combinations

Red Hat Marketplace allows for users to have multiple roles. The following table shows possible combinations.

RoleOwnerAdminMemberCluster AdminPurchaser
Owner
Admin
Member

Role authority descriptions

The following table shows user authorities and descriptions, including role access to each authority.

AuthorityDescriptionOwnerAdminMemberCluster AdminPurchaser
View Account settingsUser can view account settings.
View MembersUser can view all users under an account.
View BillingUsers can view billing information.
View EntitlementsUsers can view account entitlements.
View Private catalogUsers can view products in a private catalog.
View Support caseUsers can view support cases.
View ClustersUsers can view registered clusters.
Modify Account settingsUser can add, update, and delete account settings.
Modify MembersUsers can add, update, and delete account users.
Modify BillingUsers can add, update, and delete billing information.
Modify EntitlementsUsers can add, update, and delete account entitlements.
Modify Private catalogUsers can add, update, and delete products in a private catalog.
Modify Support caseUsers can add, update, and delete support cases.
Modify ClustersUsers can add, update, and delete registered clusters.

Invite users

Prerequisites

  • ensure you have the Admin role.
  • ensure you have an email address for the users you want to invite.

Procedure

  1. One the main menu, click your user name, click Access, and then click Invite Users.
  2. In the Email Address box, enter an email address. You can enter 50 or fewer email address at one time. Accepted delimiters are commas, spaces, or line breaks.
  3. On the Assign User Roles section, next to each Name, select the appropriate checkboxes.
  4. Click Send.

Result

The user you invited receives an email message from Red Hat Marketplace. The users are instructed to log on to Red Hat Marketplace.


Resend invite user email message

Prerequisites

Procedure

  1. One the main menu, click your user name, click Access, and then click Invite Users.
  2. To resend invite user email message, on the row of the invited user, click the Menu Options button (dots icon), and then click Resend invite.

Result

The user you invited receives an email message from Red Hat Marketplace. The users are instructed to log on to Red Hat Marketplace.


Cancel invite user

Prerequisites

Procedure

  1. One the main menu, click your user name, click Access, and then click Invite Users.
  2. To cancel invite user, on the row of the invited user, click the Menu Options button (dots icon), and then click Cancel invite.

Result

The invited user can’t associate its user name to the account. The user must create a seperate account or request another invite from an Admin role on the account.


Delete users

Prerequisites

  • register users to account

Procedure

  1. One the main menu, click your user name, click Access, and then click Invite Users.
  2. On the row of the user, click the Menu Options button (dots icon), and then click Delete user.
  3. To delete the user, click Delete.

Result

You deleted the user from the account. To purchase products, the user needs to switch accounts or register a new account.


Update roles

Prerequisites

  • register users to account

Procedure

  1. One the main menu, click your user name, click Access, and then click Invite Users.
  2. On the row of the user, click the Menu Options button (dots icon), and then click Edit user.
  3. On the Edit roles page, next to each Role, select the appropriate checkboxes.
  4. To update the roles, click Assign.

Result

You updated the roles. The user can access authorities based on the updated roles.


User status descriptions

The following table shows user status and descriptions:

statusdescriptions
Activeuser registered to account
Pendinguser invited to account, but hasn’t registered to the account